Comparing Certification Schemes

FSC is just one of several international forest certification schemes. However, to date it is the only one to have substantial support from environmental groups.

See the new report On The Ground, commissioned by Greenpeace, ForestEthics & the Sierra Club of Canada, BC Chapter, with support from Good Wood Watch. This report compares the logging in forest areas certified by the Forest Stewardship Council (FSC), the Sustainable Forestry Initiative (SFI) and the Canadian Standards Association’ Sustainable Forest Management (CSA-SFM) program throughout North America. The report illustrates the distinctions among FSC, SFI and CSA performance in addressing key ecological social criteria, showing why FSC is still the only system supported by both environmental and social groups.
To download the full report, click here.

Another Comparison: Behind the Logo written by FERN in 2001, is a comparison of four major certification schemes: FSC, SFI (Sustainable Forestry Initiative), CSA-SFM (the forestry-specific program of the Canadian Standards Association), and the PEFC (Pan European Certification System).
To download this report, click here.

Other evaluations of competing schemes

Back to top